Featured Album

November 22, 2010
Pop/Rock, Proto-Punk, Hard Rock, Album Rock, Rock & Roll, Psychedelic, Contemporary Pop/Rock, AM Pop

Album Review

Had this two-CD set come out, or even been bootlegged, 30 years before its actual release in 2010, it would have been greeted as a revelation. Coming as it did after the official appearance of so many Doors concerts in decent fidelity on CD -- more than a dozen discs' worth, in fact, from 1970 alone -- it was a little harder to get worked up about these recordings from their June 6, 1970 show in Vancouver, made with two on-stage microphones on a reel-to-reel. Not because of the fidelity, which is actually pretty good, if not as state-of-the-art as some other Doors concert tapes. But if you've collected a lot of the other live Doors CDs that have been made available, there aren't too many surprises to be had, with yet more versions of live staples like "Roadhouse Blues," "Alabama Song," "Back Door Man," "Five to One," and "When the Music's Over" that don't differ too radically from how they were usually done. After those faves have played out during the first part of disc one, however, things do get more interesting, with a performance of "Love Me Two Times" and, more notably, the blues covers "Little Red Rooster," "Money," "Rock Me," and "Who Do You Love." They're not done brilliantly -- blues covers were never the Doors' forte -- but they do feature a surprise guest appearance by blues great Albert King on slide guitar, though of these, only a seven-minute "Who Do You Love" (with some improvised lyrics in the middle) really cooks. Side two is given over almost entirely to a 17-minute rendition of "Light My Fire" that briefly incorporates snippets of "St. James Infirmary" and "Fever," followed by a finale of "The End" that lasts about as long. Other bits of interest to hardcore fans are found in a between-song Jim Morrison rap, where he exclaims in praise of Vancouver, "You can't imagine how refreshing it is to come out of a sewer like Los Angeles and breathe some fresh air for a change." He also well-intentionedly, if inaccurately, hails the blues as "about the only original art form America has created in 200 years." In sum, it's another special Doors live edition that's pretty much limited in appeal to those hardcore fans. Of course the Doors justifiably have more such hardcore fans than almost any other band, and like other Rhino archive live releases of the group, the package is both done with care and clearly marked for what it is.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Start of Show
  2. Roadhouse Blues
  3. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)
  4. Back Door Man
  5. Five to One
  6. When the Music's Over
  7. Applause/Jim Talks
  8. Love Me Two Times
  9. Applause/Jim Talks
  10. Little Red Rooster
  11. Tuning
  12. Money
  13. Tuning
  14. Rock Me
  15. Tuning
  16. Who Do You Love
  17. Tuning
  18. Petition the Lord with Prayer
  19. Light My Fire
  20. Tuning
  21. The End
  22. Thank You & Good Night