Featured Album

March 19, 2011
Traffic Entertainment Group
Rap, East Coast Rap, Political Rap, Golden Age

Album Review

South Bronx Teachings: A Collection of Boogie Down Productions ignores any post-1987 material, and compiles its songs primarily from Criminal Minded. The first five songs are tracked in the exact order as the Golden Age classic, and only "Super-Hoe" and "Dope Beat" are omitted. There are a few treats, an alternate take of "P Is Free," -- a beat box version reminiscent of Slick Rick and Doug E. Fresh's "La Di Da Di" -- and three early tracks, the Sugarhill-styled "Advance," an early shot at MCing by DJ D-Nice, aptly titled "D-Nice Rocks the House," and the hard to find anti-crack anthem "Say No Brother." Additionally, the comp ends with a six-and-a-half-minute mix of album highlights by Kool DJ Red Alert. While some of these bonus cuts could be of interest to hardcore collectors, none are essential, and most fans will prefer sticking with the original classic or the extended version of Criminal Minded.
Jason Lymangrover, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Poetry
  2. South Bronx
  3. 9MM Goes Bang
  4. Word from Our Sponsor
  5. Elementary
  6. P Is Free
  7. The Bridge Is Over
  8. Criminal Minded
  9. P Is Free [Original Version] [Version]
  10. Advance
  11. D-Nice Rocks the House
  12. Say No Brother (Crack Don't Do It)
  13. Criminal Minded [Red Alert Mega Mix]